Is there a way to prevent access to hard drives through firefox after you have hidden them. i went through "regedit" from the "run" command and also used "1st Security Agent" program to hide my hard drives, i have got it to the point where you can not access my c: through "IE" and the "Run" command but you can still get to my c: by typing "c:" in the address bar in firefox. is there a way to prevent this?

P.S. is there any other way to access my c: , and if so how do i prevent that also?

Thanks
Larry

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I may be able to help better if I knew why you were trying to achieve this. I've looked through the configuration files for Firefox and I do not see an option to prevent it from accessing your hard drive.

i am an engineer and i have co-workers that keep getting into my "document and settings" and messing things up, most important is my autocad program and my design programs (that is where these programs store support files and custm. settings). everytime i am gone someone gets on my work station and messes with it. they think i can not tell if they have been on it, but they do not know that i can track every move they make. the reason i can not lock my computer is the 3 guys above me in the whole comp. (Pres., VP,IT Eng.) says that we must keep everything open with no passwords and admin. privileges, but if they can not find it then they can not screw it up. they may be other reasons for them getting in there also, but the worst part about the whole thing is that i am above a lot of people and they all say it was not them, but it keeps happening. so i want to fix it where i am still not using passwords but i can prevent some one from messing things up.

1st i went into the reg. and hide the hard drives that i wanted then i used a program(that i said above) and fixed it on IE. how i fixed it was i prevented IE from allowing file url's but it allows internet url's, but i can not find out how to do this for firefox.