I have yet to write a single line of code. I am just finishing the "pencil and paper" part of the layout design.

https://docs.google.com/drawings/pub?id=11GrWyVrG6J0PSMY_GF8n6M97Hy45kwNAJQSZYz-VxxQ&w=960&h=720

Here is my rant/explanation of what I want to do with the website

https://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=150QSF4NfDuj5sGh35OgsGyv1VvRxWSeRKlDnozJ54P0

I am only beginning to learn CSS. Do you think the whole thing is doable in Microsoft Expression Web? What other tool(s) will I need for this website? I appreciate all the criticism and suggestions I can get. This is my first post but if you see gaping mistakes, please feel free to yell at me.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi

There is nothing realy wrong with your layout. It is basic.

I dont know if your drawing is to scale, but looking at your header part, I personally would give a larger size for page title, (vertically or down) and rather drop the search box next to the site navigation area, or better still, I would take the search box out of the header area and insert it into the left side bar to stay at its top at all pages.

As for the search bar how to question in your notes, to perform a search, you need a database. If you are not having a database, you can use the google search bar and set it to results on your site content only.

As for your question on Microsoft Expression Web, I have never used it, but what I read about it, it sure looks like it can do everything. Be carefull however with any microsoft product, as it sometimes favour IE browsers above Firefox and other opensource browsers, so make sure your site displays the same accross platforms.

Now, start getting that first line of code down, and come back to show us.

Good luck.

Thank you for such a quick reply! (: