I am a self taught "elementary" html coder (still find hard to resist putting formatting on the page along with the content) and have created two web sites for orgs I belong to:

http://www.conservancyonmayne.com and http://www.vivaldichoir.org.

I recently added a code snippet I found at Digital Point that performs a Google search on the local site. Delighted to find it worked first time (the original more complex piece of code that interacted with Google directly became useless due to its mistaken attribution of "mass e-mail" proclivities to each and every computer it was tested on - by self and many users) I added the search box to our "home" pages and in the case of the Conservancy to the "About" page as well. Pages render fine in Firefox, Chrome & IE 7 & 8 as well as Safari. However in IE9 my left sidebar containing the search input box gets thrown to the bottom of the page. Commenting out the Digital Point code of course removes the search box, but otherwise the page renders perfectly.

I also tried commenting out the reference to the Search DIV in the CSS in case there was something incompatible with the formatting - no change.

The full code I picked of from Digital Point reads as follows:

" <iframe style="width:220px; height:35px; margin:5px;" frameborder=0 allowtransparency=yes scrolling=no src="http://search.digitalpoint.com/iframe.php? site=www.conservancyonmayne.com&s=120&b=1&y=1"></iframe> "

Anyone got any clues as to why this is happening?

Thank you!

Alan

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hi Alan (al2henry),

You should familiarize yourself with CSS floats.

Here's what you should do (the ONLY thing you change).

#navBar {
float: left;
margin: 0;
width: 21%;
}
</div>
<!--end navbar -->

<div style="clear:both;"></div> <--// Add this under the "navbar" div to "clear" the floats (you'll learn about that when you read the post I've linked to above.