Hi guys im a newbie so please bear with me
I have a 6 yr old Maxx 4d desktop bought from Special Reserve
spec list from them as follows but they had to change machine shortly after purchase and replacement was upgrade on previous dont know if this list is for 1st or 2nd machine!
intel pentium 4 1.7
40 or 80 gb? think its 80
m/board either intel 815i or 850i or VIA KT133
256 ram made up of 2x 128mb 168 pin (Rimm pc800)or(Dimm pc33)
spec sheet lists both options (tech looked at them said not enough info on stickers think they were Samsung if that helps?)
heres the confusing bit
Ran online scan with Orcalogic which said i had 2x 128 mb Rimm cards plus 2 spare slots (which i have seen but look shorter than the 2 used.) and a capacity of 2 gb
However when i ran scan from Crucial that said i was at maxiumum ram. !
How do i find out for sure as Spacial Reserve has gone dont know who Maxx are etc.
can anyone help thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Intel 815 goes to maximum 512MB RAM

Intel 850 goes to maximum 2GB RAM.

You can go to www.cpuid.com and download CPUZ. When you run it it'll tell you what your chipset is on the Mainboard Tab.

But if this is a P4 @ 1.7GHz, that's dead lame and you should consider something newer if possible.

thanks again suspishio
cquid report says
intell p4 1.7
850i board
2x 128 RD Ram pc800-45 dual channel with 2 spare slots 2GB max

although P4 1.7 is not fantastic i have to say machine performs quite well most of the time but people said it would improve a lot with Ram increase. i read on another thread cards have to be fitted in mached pairs or will not work to the new capacity is this correct?
Ram of this type is relatively expensive from what i can see and i wouldnt know how much diference increase to 512mb or 1GB
would make.
So do i...
add 2x 128mb to the spare slots or fit new 2x 256
will an increase to 512 make a difference? (will i notice?)
or
spend a million pounds on 2x 512 or 100 million on 4x512 etc etc etc...