Hi, everybody, nice forum. I've been using computers since 1965 (programming with Fortran!)...probably before a lot of you were born. But I've primarily used Apple computers for the past 25 years, although I have used PCs too, and right now my grandson's PC is having a peculiar problem.

I found this site by Googling "computer starts, then stops." I tried to start it again using the power button several times and the same thing happened, or nothing. The thread I found suggested it was a power supply problem, or house wiring. Computer was essentially dead (this was the "troubleshooting dead machines," thread). I called a local repair person and left a message. Three hours later my 8 year old autistic grandson comes in (this is his homeschooling PC), sees that the power button is now blinking yellow, and turns it on!!

It's working now but I'm not inclined to turn it off. I'm renting here and need to know WHAT needs to be checked in the house wiring, if that's the problem. Strangely, the ceiling light in the kitchen often takes some time to warm up enough to turn on (or does it have a motion sensor?? seems strange). Anyway, computers are bound to be less tolerant of such strange electrical problems than ceiling lights...

My Mac is still working...Peace, Kathleen_E

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hard to say since it now works. Sometimes if you are on the computer for more than 3 hours and you are watching a movie on the internet or via the dvd player, or playing games without saving often, the virtual memory becomes full and shuts down the computer.
Also, you may have the computer on a powerboard with other things going at the same time like a heater?