Ok, i build my own computer:
ASUS p4800SE mobo HT
p4 3.0GHz 800FSB HT w/heatsink
1 GB PC3200 RAM
80GB Seagate 7200RPM
Onboard LAN
2x80mm fans

and my POWER SUPPLY is 550w power magic psu!

My computer has been running for about almost a week and everything was running fine until tonight. I wanted to install and sound card: Creative labs sound blaster audigty 2 and when i turned on my computer it said CMOS Settings Wrong. Like i guess the bios got resetted somehow, i dunno. So it booted up fine and got to the desktop and then all the sudden my computer just turned off!!! I press the ON button and nothing worked! I unplugged everything in back replugged it back in, NOTHING again! I took the sound card out and plugg all the wires in the right places and nothing powers up! The PSU makes a hissying sound of some sort when i plug in the power cord to the psu and it stops when I unplug it! IS MY PSU DEAD!????? :evil: HELP !!!!! I would appreciate it grealty..........I'm new to the personal computer building thing.

Thanks
pete

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Sure sounds like a dead power supply to me.

Hope it didnt take other things with it...

Can I ask if you used thermal grease between your heat sink and cpu

Did you ever check the cmos and look at the cpu temp?

I have used every make model brand or leftover...
No preference here.