Hello i am new in this forum so if i posted this thread in a false topic please dont flame me.Anyway i have this pc:

acer Aspire 5920g which cost me 2000 euros.I bought it one year before.I read many threads in the Internet about this laptop and every one says that its a very good computer(i have to inform you that i dont have the slightest idea about Hardwares and computers i am a complete noob).I bought many games and some of them lag when i put them in high quality.Modern Warfare 2 had no problem in high graphics but other games heavier or not than Modern Warfare lagged.Prototype for exampled,Crysis or even Battlefield Bad Company 2 and Metro 2033.However i have realised that when i reduce the shadow graphics or Anti-alising the lag almost disappeares.I want to know if this has anything to do with the graphics engine of my laptop or it has anything to do with the fps.If the fps is the problem could you please give me some instructions on how to increase them?

Here are the characteristics of my computer:
Windows Vista x32
4GB RAM
Intel Core 2 Duo processir T5750(2.0 GHz,667 MHz FSB,2 MB L2 cache)
15,4 " WXGA Acer CrystalBrite LCD(8 ms / 220-nit)
Up to 1791MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 HyperMemory
3GB DDR2
250 GB HDD
Blu-Ray
802. 11a/b/g WLAN
Subwoofer
DirectX 10
Default resolution must be 1280x800 or 1280x768

Thanks for your help!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Your video card/graphics processor is the issue. This is confirmed by the fact that performance increased when you decreased the level of visual detail. "eye candy" such as shawows, water reflections and so on tend to take a great deal of graphics processing power, this is primarily what has been slowing your games down. Unfortunately on laptops there is not really a whole lot you can do to increase FPS without downgrading the on-screen visuals. With a desktop you could simply add a newer/more powerful graphics card, but that market doesnt really exist for laptops.