Ok I am fairly new at all this so bare with me. I recently just got a new DiamondMax 10 SATA hard drive, my old hard drive is IDE. I first attempted to pull out the old and stick in the new hard drive with my win xp cd to boot from. At the start of the xp installation it tells me there is no space to install too (apparently the computer doesnt know the HD is connected). So then I plug back in the old HD ( the IDE one ) and see if I can just use the new as extra storage. But even then my computer doesnt recognize the new hard drive. My motherboard is a ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe and has 2 SATA ports. After reading over a handful of different sites and help guides I checked in BIOS to see if there was anything regarding SATA that I need to enable. But I didnt see anything, although keep in mind I dont know exactly what I am looking for.

So what I am wondering is what do I need to do to get this computer to recognize the new SATA HD, is there somewhere I need to install drivers for my motherboards SATA connections to work or something in BIOS?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

What position is the jumper in on the rear?

First thing you need to do is see if your BIOS is finding your drive during POST. Do you see your new drive listed during the first startup process after you boot your computer?

If your BIOS isn't finding the drive, you need to enter the BIOS setup and configure it to use the SATA drive.

If your BIOS is finding the drive, you most likely aren't loading the driver that allows Windows setup to see the drive. Your motherboard came with SATA drivers on a floppy disk. You will need to put that SATA driver disk in your floppy drive, reboot, start the Windows XP setup CD, and hit F6 when setup shows "Press F6 if you need to install a third party SCSI or RAID driver". Then you just need to follow the on-screen instructions in order to install that driver so that you can install Windows to the SATA drive.