Hello. I'm a newbie so if I am repeating an old posted question, sorry!
I'm adding a RAID1 SATA pair of drives to my machine. My hope is to copy everything from my existing IDE boot drive (currently C: ) and running Windows and evrything else from the new set. If all goes well, I would reformat the old drive and switch drive letters, booting to the RAID array (future C: ) and using the old IDE drive (future D: ) for extra space- or something.

I've used software that came with the drives- Western Digital's Data LifeGuard Drive-to-Drive copy utility to copy the entire contents of C: to D: When running Drive-to-Drive in Windows, there are over 1000 files not copied, mostly registry-looking stuff. So I figure those must be in use and unreadable or something so I tried again, this time booting to the CD drive and running the Drive-to-Drive utility from there. After several hours of copying, all seems to be well. There are no messages about uncopied files- no messages at all, really. But booting to the new array (still D: ) gives error messages:

"Generic Host Process of Win32 Services" stopped or something like that. Windows still runs OK. I tried unplugging IDE and Power from old IDE drive in order to assign the drive letter, and the system hangs on Windows boot screen. Plug IDE/Power back in, restart- still booting to new RAID array, OK. But I'm unable to change drive letters because(?) Windows page file is still on (old) C: I removed page file from (old) C: and change drive letter (to X: ), same hang on Windows boot screen. Have to reboot to old IDE C:, and thats where it sits now.

So it seems that Drive-to-Drive is not copying everything, and as result I just have only a very redundant triple copy of (almost) everything on my C: Help! Any experience with this software or suggestions for a better solution for my goal would be most welcomed.

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies