Hello All,
I am new to this community, I am a novice when it comes to computers and I hope that I am posting this question in the correct forum, If not I am sorry in advance.

I just purchased a new machine from Dell. The specs are as follows.
Intel® Core™2 Duo Proc E6550 (2.33GHz,4MB L2Cache,1333FSB)
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz - 2DIMMs
Dell 20 inch Widescreen E207WFP Digital Flat Panel Display
Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 3100
80GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™

I know that it would be helpful to post what mother board it has but I don't know how to find that out.

My main question is what kind of ram will work best with this system, from what I have found on the web I think that I need to have the Ram match the CPU as far as speed, but I don't know that for sure, there is so much information out there about it that it has overwhelmed me. I will be using the computer for some gaming and basic web surfing along with some word processing. I would like to upgrade to 2 GM memory but didn't know if I could use the Memory that was already in there or if I should go all new.
Well this has turned in to a disertation. If there is anything that I have left out please let me know, and if you have any suggestions I would appriciate them.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Welcome, and yes you have posted it in the right place.
If you are currently running Windows XP 1Gb is ample, if you are running Windows Vista, which i am guessing you are, 2Gb of RAM is a worthwhile upgrade.
If you download and run the following software:
http://crucial.com/systemscanner/loader.aspx?Agree=Yes