I am new to this site - and I have been reading up the guides on preventing virus infection and other nasties. I would like some views on whether SpySweeper is now antivirus or antispyware - or both and whether it matters.

I find advice on using appropriate antivirus software confusing. In most cases I am told that you shouldn't run 2 antivirus programs.

I am using Vista Premium with OneCare on two networked PCs (and on my laptop).

I have been using Windows Live OneCare for a couple of years now, backed up with SpySweeper (before it added antivirus). A couple of months ago WebRoot added antivirus to my SpySweeper (without asking me) when I updated it.

So - should I always make sure I don't try and run SpySweeper and OneCare atr the same time? I like OneCare as it integrates with Vista well and makes using 3 separate printers easy to print from any PC on the network.

I find AdAware conflicts so I don't use it, and SpyBot also seems to conflict - so I have been using OneCare and SpySweeper for my protection - occasionally running Malwarebytes AntiMalware to try and spot malware.

Should I try to have another spyware program running all the time alongside OneCare and dump SpySweeper (which now seems to be called Webroot Antivirus)?

To be honest, if it were my choice, and I have to tell you I don't use either, the programs I use are all FREE, but if I had to get rid of one of these paid programs then I would Uninstall Windows Live OneCare. It doesn't rank in the top 10 on any lists.
Most of the lab tests rank it's anti-virus portion of the program at average or below.
Here are some reviews for you to take a look at and maybe help you make the decision:

http://internet-security-suite-review.toptenreviews.com/

http://anti-virus-software-review.toptenreviews.com/windows-onecare-live-review.html

http://reviews.cnet.com/online-software-services/windows-live-onecare/4505-9239_7-31899024.html

http://anti-spyware-review.toptenreviews.com/spy-sweeper-review.html