Hello,

This is my first post, and I'm not too sure what my next step should be...

The problem started yesterday, and I suspect it's related to a virus that was supposedly removed by AVG.

Here's what's going on:
- Windows Explorer crashes every 3 seconds; it restarts, then the message box pops up again
- Right after that message comes up (on startup), my laptop claims run32dll.exe has stopped working
- Other programs seem to be going wonky: I've seen Windows Defender message, Synaptics ,
Windows Task Scheduler, etc.
- I've run AVG scan, 6 threats were found, along with tracking cookies... removed all of it.
- I tried opening HiJack This, but it won't open either.
- No Uninstall option in Remove A Program.

I have no idea what to do next. Everyone always asks for a HiJack This log, but how do I run it if it won't open?

Other things that may help:
- I'm a noob with computers
- I'm running Vista Home Premium
- I'm using an HP Pavillion laptop
- 3 GB Ram
- 220 GB HDD
- I'll give other details if needed and I'll respond quickly :)

Please help, and many thanks in advance.

Justin

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

What version of HiJackThis is it? The newest version is 2.0.2.
Download the new version and try that one.

Also, give us the names of the items removed by AVG

Update: I've solved the explorer.exe and run32dll.exe problem... A virus probably accessed the registry and added "Taskman"
with the value run32dll.exe in winlogon. I removed it, and now explorer works fine.

However, the problem is NOT resolved. Here's what I'm still experiencing:
- Can't uninstall programs in Control Panel (The Uninstall / Change button is simply not there) - HOWEVER, a few recently
added files can apparently be uninstalled; does this have something to do with the virus changing registry or files?
- Certain programs don't run: Malware bytes, Hijack This, etc.