I am a tech for a school district. We are having issues with users logging in and getting this error: userinit.exe - application error The application failed to initialize properly. Click on ok to terminate the application.

Once they click on Ok their Icons do not appear, some get text but no icon and some get nothing at all on their desktops. If you try to log off with c-a-d then it brings up the box but doesn't let you use any of the options on the screen because the icons aren't there.

We have tried several fixes, one of them being ComboFix, it worked on a couple of the computers but it is not a fix all on all of them district wide. We have also wiped the computers and reloaded them from scratch and as soon as you get through and log in they get the error again. HELP....I need suggestions.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

HELP....I need suggestions.

Honestly, I would need to see a scanlog or two from the combofix runs. Too many different possibilities to speculate....

Lots of nasties with rootkit components these days - that makes them hard to kill and easy to spread.

If you could post a few logs from the tools you have run, one of our volunteers can have a look and advise you further.

PP :)

hi,

One quick question, have you put antivirus on those computers lately? if so then read on....

I have had the exact prob on some of my computers... All of them ended up in reformatting the hard drive but i did manage to get into windows and save all my files :)...
Ok, well if it is the same as the prob that i had then it IS a virus, now the virus is called the Virut or Sonnahag and there's some more names for it. A good program to remove these files would be Dr.WebCureIT or VRvirut32.