I got a call recently from a friend on the other side of the country. His friend runs a computer shop in a rural area. He has been dealing with this malicious code for at least 2 weeks and at one point it shut down his entire network, except his Ubuntu machine from what I understand.

He has been researching what this thing does, and I have tried looking up these symptoms on the internet but am unable to find anything that resembles its behavior, the only thing I see it sort of resembles is the Conficker virus, but it can do much more than Conficker.

I'm no pro in this field, as I tend to be more of a nice programmer than a malicious one, and don't really keep up with this sort of stuff ><

But at this point I'm not sure what to call it. It does seem to have trojan like behaviors because the server side seems to download random programs off the net and send them back to whoever is controlling the client, but it also resides in the MBR and does not seem to need a host, except for maybe the windows operating system itself.

It will create several user accounts and assign them all to admin. It will also place the current user onto a virtual drive it creates, so anything the computer does - it thinks it is on the real C: drive, when, in fact, it's on a virtual drive. This virus will move the original MBR to track 3 and install its own boot record at track 0. It was also mentioned that it installs a "wrapper" OS for the virus to maneuver around in. This all happens within the first 5 minutes of a cold boot.

It restricts certain files, and when trying to access files this "thing" will sometimes unleash many more viruses in attempt to stop the user from going any further. It seems to be a gateway for the person controlling this thing to download programs and send them back to the person controlling the client side of this.

Virus scans have been run by several higher end programs like Norton and even open source ones like Kaspersky. Nothing seems to find this virus.