Hi, I've been doing lots of googling about building a webserver using ubuntu server 9.10 but I got notthing. I mean, a lot of info I read was helpful but it does not work under my circumstances at all. So I want some help from Ununtu geeks. Just reminder I have'nt grasped the concepts of the web server and I am new to ubuntu and I hardly know the linux coomand!

My question is "HOW TO BUILD A WEB SERVER ACCESSED BY ANYONE FROM OUTSIDE USING UBUNTU 9.10".
I have purchased a domain (lets say "abcd.com") and I have a desktop with Ubuntu server 9.10 installed and from here, I am totally stuck.

As far as I know I need to make the IP static and have to change DNS, as well as firewall settings for my router etc. Could anyone tell me how to do this step by step please?

Post script) if possible, please instruct me in a great detail. I mean someone explained on how to set a static IP as following:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1

But I have no idea what the addresses are from. Is that what you made up or this is according to my IP and Internet connection setting?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Dear,
I am also a beginner in Linux/Open Source/Ubuntu.
As per my understanding:-
Web server means you would host web pages on the server and the server must respond when you type its name or IP address in a web browser.
Default web page on Ubuntu Server is in /var/www/ folder. Default web page is index.html
Assume that IP address of your web server is 192.168.1.3
If your server has been installed correctly and you type 192.168.1.3 in the web browser then this page would respond something like this:-

"It works!
This is the default web page for this server.
The web server software is running but no content has been added, yet."

You may now modify contents of default web page /var/www/index.html or you may replace the page as such but the name must remain as index.html.