Linux is as safe as an operating system can ever get. If you have an antivirus on your Linux machine, you could clean the drive and stop the risk of infecting other machines so having a good firewall is always a smart thing to do.

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Linux. I am finding it interesting but i am wondering why Linux is not having any Antivirus or some security tools? wont this pose any security threat when we are accessing Internet?

because when you install linux in your pc dat time firewall is already active so in linux we dont need any antivirus

because when u insatall linux dat time in linux firewall is alredy activate so in linux we dont need any antivirus...............

Member Avatar for lordinateur

That is interested but what about the use of p2p on linux? I know they are really risky but some programs, legally or otherwise cannot easily be found elsewhere?

It is not the completely truth. Linux has also his viruses - but they are far less prevalent than Windows ones

linux internet security whats the best linux internet security???????????

Hi can someone tell me what the best antivirus and what’s the best firewall and what’s the best malware for Linux???????????????????????????????????

ClamAV and Guarddog should be in your Linux Repository. I don't know of an Anti-malware app for Linux. I don't use AV or Firewall software on my Debian machine and, after several years, have never had a problem.

Linux is very good operating system but not as good as Mac because i have both the operating system & both are amazing no issues virus affecting my system. You make my work so smooth & faster. Thank you both the operating system company get something more better.

Hello
I am new here and i have been running linux for about a year now and I love it. and I found this discussion very interesting. I run linux mint 8 btw. and except for a couple of programs i only use the program manager to install programs.