Just wondering what registry cleaners people use?

Im an IT administrator and wondering what your views are on registry cleaners, whether you use them, or not, and which ones you use.

My favourite is RegistryFix: <snip>
I find the user interface easy to navigate and the registry cleaning is very quick.

My other favourite is CCleaner: http://www.ccleaner.com/
Although I do not find it works as well.

Anyone recommend any other good registry cleaners?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I have a cleaned-up ErrorNuker and RegistryFix both of which I occasionally run, but pretty much for entertainment. Your registry may be 25 or 30 Megs in size, if you remove only a couple of entries it's pretty much like plucking a couple of blades of grass from a tennis court.
Most entries picked up by those scans are ones which pass out of the system eventually in an overflow or last in-first out process eg MRU lists.
A messy uninstallation by a poor uninstaller may leave a few orphans but if those keys are not called they just will not be read. In the 4 or 5 secs that explorer.ex takes to load it does [tens of] thousands of key reads, plus a mass of hdd operations to see what it should be doing, displaying, and know. As an example, if I'm on the net but with no extraneous open windows explorer does 140,000 key operations in that time, with the net disconnected it does 90,000 key operations as it loads.
I have CCLeaner also.

i use ccleaner ,seems to work ok, but will download FixRegestry and compare the 2

I use Regvac It is available as a trial version and works great. Been using it for about 7 years now and can rely on it.

Bob

I use Regvac It is available as a trial version and works great. Been using it for about 7 years now and can rely on it.

Bob

wow 7 yr trial version .lol

i have run ccleaner before and its nice but i prefer to use eusing free for registry cleaner and steven gould's cleanup! for getting rid of temp files/folders. try it