I recently tried to install Norton360 and not only would it not finish the install, now I cannot access QuickBooks2007 and some other important programs. I wasted a bunch of money looking for help at several computer stores and now they're telling me to reinstall XP. I have the disk for XP but don't have the key and I don't really want to format my drive anyway because I lost all my program disks and will lose alot of expensive and very important software. Is there anyway I can either fix my registry and get rid of any malware without losing everything?

Additionally, after trying to install Norton360, my DVD/CDRW will read DVDs and CDs but no program disks or Roms other than the damn Norton360 disk now. What's that all about and can it be fixed? If I format my drive will I even be able to reinstall XP from the CD now?

Please help. If there is freeware or shareware that could help I'd appreciate the links. I'm out of funds after paying all the rent-a-geeks for nothing. I'm new to this community and I really need some help with this problem. I'm not the most computer savvy but I'll do my best to grow and hopefully I will someday be able to be an asset to this community. I think this is a wonderful place and I look forward to being a part of it. I can only contribute a small amount financially though at this time.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I recently tried to install Norton360 and not only would it not finish the install, now I cannot access QuickBooks2007 and some other important programs. I wasted a bunch of money looking for help at several computer stores and now they're telling me to reinstall XP. I have the disk for XP but don't have the key and I don't really want to format my drive anyway because I lost all my program disks and will lose alot of expensive and very important software. Is there anyway I can either fix my registry and get rid of any malware without losing everything?