Hi everyone, A few days ago I decide to reload XP on an older desktop.
Dell pentium 4 with 1gig ram. Backed up data and started. Went part way through with the format and power glitch??? Now I can get to the set up menu but the cd drive does not see the windows CD and widows was wiped out on my hard drive. I have the original driver disc but it wont read that either.

Since I am not very experienced in the workings of the system, can the folks in the forum help?

Suggestions anyone?

Billk

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

try cleaning the disc and check whether your cd drive can read it...or check whether BIOS still detect your cd drive..

try cleaning the disc and check whether your cd drive can read it...or check whether BIOS still detect your cd drive..

Yes I would do the above. Check if the CD drive is recognised in BIOS try pressing DEL or F2 at boot up to enter BIOS. If it turns out the CD drive is knacked then they are not to expensive.

Try the bootable CD in another computer. Or are you saying the CD loads but doesn't progress to the installation stage?

Another computer can read the CD, (that's what I'd hoped it was.) The desktop will not boot, or even see the disc. I think part of the problem is that, the computer does not even recognizing there is a disc in the drive.

I'm at work and away from this computer.

Thanks for the reply
Bill

Are you sure that the cd/dvd drive is at the top of the boot order in BIOS?

Is there no option to select boot device? (My PC has a F8 option to selct boot device)

When I go to the boot menu I have 2 options either boot from the sata hard drive or usb cd-rom drive.
Select the usb, hit f1 and get selected boot device not available.
Select f2, select drive group and get the following.
*diskette drive
*drive 0: sata-0
*drive 1: sata-2
*drive 2: pata-0
*drive 3: pata-1
*sata operation
Settings for these are
diskette drive usb
drive 0 on
drive 1 on
drive 2 on
drive 3 on
sata operation is set to normal.