I've been looking at numerous threads throughout the internet, and have found, and tried nothing that has worked for me yet. So this is my first attempt at a post to try and get some much needed advice. Ok here it goes...

SPECS
Motherboard - ECS K7S5A
Processor - 1800Ghz AMD
RAM - 2 X 512mb Simpletech DDR
Hard Drive - Western Digital EIDE 80gb (Very Recent)
OS - Win XP Pro

PROBLEM
I have expericened random system restarts since installing the new hard drive, and also have ruled out a RAM problem. All temps seems fine, ruled out a RAM problem, and have a fresh install of XP with the disk I have always used. I have checked all connections, and everything seems fine. Nothing in particular seems to trigger the restarts, sometimes it will be minutes, and sometimes hours between them. Could this be a driver problem? bad install of XP? or possibly my new HD needs to be taken back? Any comments will appreciated, thanks for the help.

-Josh

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Motherboard - ECS K7S5A

PROBLEM
I have expericened random system restarts since installing the new hard drive, and also have ruled out a RAM problem.

There are a couple of possible problems and solutions here. A main one is the power supply. Adding a high-capacity hard drive can increase the power load. Any PS that is rated less than 300 watts is not suitable. Even higher-capacity supplies that are not rated for the Pentium 4 and/or Athlon XP may not be acceptable. Even if the PS ratings are up to snuff, other factors come into play including its age. If the PS internal fan is bound up, clogged, or spinning slowly, the internal temperature will rise, potentially causing thermal shutdown and component damage.