Using Outlook Express, is it possible to block out any and everything coming from an ISP (who is allowing spam to come through it's system)?

If so, how do I do it?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Email communiction is started via the client. Is there any reason why you would want to do more than just remove the account from Outlook Express.

Email communiction is started via the client. Is there any reason why you would want to do more than just remove the account from Outlook Express.

Thanks for the reply, Marty.

Yeah, there is a reason; spam is bad now, and getting worse each day it seems. I'm a writer and I don't know beans about computers, but I do resent the crazies out there who think it's okay to flood my inbox with junk I don't want. Okay, enough of the ranting.

The client (the one sending out the spam) can change stripes twenty times a day, at least. He can change to a different domain. Or a different sub-domain. They have more tricks than Carter's has liver pills. They can't be stopped, BUT, if the ISP they're sending it through can be, then they will be, by extension.

In an ideal world, OE would add under the present "Block Sender" one titled, "Block ISP." A pop out would give the user the option of his computer keeping track of how many spam e-mails have come through on that ISP and when the user has had enough, block it out - and send the ISP a message telling them they're no longer welcome. One user, they'll laugh at, but if you guys who know programming make it easy for people like me to use, then the offending ISP will begin to sit up and take notice.

If they do something about it or not, I don't care. I just want to stop it from polluting my computer and the most logical point I can see is the ISP.

Click the Tools menu and then Message Rules and then on Blocked Senders List.

Click the Tools menu and then Message Rules and then on Blocked Senders List.