What are the IE7 add-ons that you couldn't live without, and why? You know the kind of thing, spell checkers, security utilities, search toolbars etc.

I guess ieSpell (because I type far too quickly, am always in a hurry, and often make fat finger mistakes as a result - and being a writer by trade it looks bad if my spelling sucks), IE7pro (for adding lots of little usability touches that Microsoft should have done itself) and McAfee SiteAdvisor (for the at a glance protection from dodgy websites it brings) would do it for me...

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

So, nobody uses IE7 add-ons at all then?

I need IE7 > add to favorites(alt+z) > drop down list control to be replaces by a tree view control because i scroll and look too much in my long list of favs, they are all collapsed like that.

Member Avatar for thunderstorm98

Davey why not you use Firefox, IE 7 have lot of holes.

Well this is the only complaint i got on IE7, but it's a big nuissance, perhaps i will get firefox. It would be helpfull to know how could i hack that control into a tree view.

I installed FireFox, it has advanced bookmarking management but it doesn't show the bookmark icons wich is a big nono too. Someone should change that IE7 control, it can't be that hard for somone who worked on IE. A lot of angry people would be thankfull.

Sorry for triple port, an edit option would be nice though. Actually bookmark icons update after i use them but i found two other baddies in firefox.
No truetype font suport i could find and it doesn't display tooltips over the name of the bookmark so i can read URL. 2.5 actually for stuff that doesn't display right in firefox.

Member Avatar for thunderstorm98

Hope you search add-ons on her official website.

i have a question relating to the ie7 favorites menu and quite frnkly i cannot find a create new thread link so here's as good a place as any.