I'm a very amateur computer techie - I know more than the average shmoe, but I am no where near an expert.

Here's my problem. Over a year ago, I reformatted my drive and installed a new Windows 2000 installation (Win 2000 was the original installation, BTW). I believe this created a partition, and ever since, whenever I boot my computer, I am asked to select an operating system to load. My choices are Windows 2000, or Windows 2000. :evil:

The second Windows 2000 option is completely dead. When I select it, I get an error message that says it can not be loaded due to blah blah blah... Obviously, because I deleted the stupid thing! How do I delete that option at the begining, and just have my computer boot normally into the proper OS??? :o

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

it's in your boot.ini file in c:/. Look for the partition in which you deleted and remove that from the list, to be safe, post your ini file info in here and ill fix it for ya ;)

:o

Where do I find that file?

it's in C:\ , like monte said.

You can just type in notepad c:\boot.ini After clicking on Start -> Run. That will make it open up in notepad, so you can edit it.

Awesome, thank you. Here's what I came up with:

[Boot Loader]
Timeout=5
Default=C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT
[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT2="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Setup"

Where exactly would I start deleting? I don't want to go too far, obviously. BTW, when I boot my computer, I actually have 3 options: Windows 2000, Windows 2000, and Windows 2000 Setup, just as it appears above. Would I delete everything AFTER the first "MS Win 2000 Pro/fastdetect"?