Hi All,
I have just orderd my new internet connection and i am rdy to get everything setup. on my network will be a mail gateway (linux) and webserver (linux) an active directory DC and a few client machines. so my questions are:

do i ask my isp to hold my mx records?
do i need my own dns service to be able to host my webserver with my domain name?

i am by no means a novice at networking but this is the first time i have hosted my own services from home. so i would like some advice from the experianced on any problems or processes that i need to get sorted out.

many thanks,

spikes

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

What ISP are you signed on with? I use OptOnline and have the same setup you're looking to do (MX, httpd, etc.)

Hey Theogre,
I am Signed up with BT (British Telecom). i am asumeing that i will be able to get them to create an mx record: my ip mydomain.com 10

it is the isp that holds this, and not my mail server?

the other question i was interested in was the dns side of things, so that my web server can be accessed by domain name rather than ip. is it just a case of setting the dns server on my systems and allowing the info to fillter up to the internet/isp etc?

finaly on the security side of things, which would you recomed for a firewall, a solid box of tricks such as the pix or sonicwall firewall or is it posable to setup a bsd box used just for routing, firewalling, nat and port forwarding. with no remote access?

cheers for your help

spikes

I'll explain my setup, which will give you an idea of how it works.

I have qmail as my mail server and Apache serving files. All boxes sit behind a FreeBSD firewall that handles NAT, routing, and all the filtering.

For DNS, I signed up for a free account with Afraid.org, which handles DNS and stores the MX record for the domain. Your ISP won't do any of this for you (I don't know about BT, but don't count on it.)