I am new at this but I have two computers one is a friends computer in one room of this house and the other is my computer in the other room of this house. We share the same DSL connection through Earthlink home networking system but are seperate computer systems. We would like to be able to use each others systems like be able to use each others printers and such but so far no luck.

I talked with a tech from Earthlink and he and I got the computers to be setup to see each other partially but when I try to use or go into my friends system through mine it says I am an unauthorised user of that system and that I need permission first so naturally the tech for earthlink said he could not help me any further.

Is there any buddy out there that knows what to do or has any experience with this sort of thing I would greatly appreciate it if you could help me out with anything thanks a lot, watermellon

P. S. both systems have Windows XP home edition I hope that helps :eek:

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I am new at this but I have two computers one is a friends computer in one room of this house and the other is my computer in the other room of this house. We share the same DSL connection through Earthlink home networking system but are seperate computer systems. We would like to be able to use each others systems like be able to use each others printers and such but so far no luck.

I talked with a tech from Earthlink and he and I got the computers to be setup to see each other partially but when I try to use or go into my friends system through mine it says I am an unauthorised user of that system and that I need permission first so naturally the tech for earthlink said he could not help me any further.

Is there any buddy out there that knows what to do or has any experience with this sort of thing I would greatly appreciate it if you could help me out with anything thanks a lot, watermellon

P. S. both systems have Windows XP home edition I hope that helps :eek: