Hello, just a quick question. I've a blown A-Open FSP250-60GTA power supply, and am of course looking for a replacement.

I'm basically new to power supplies and I'm wondering, will i need THAT exact model before my PC will run again?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hey Kiel...no you don't have to go with the same PSU, as a mater of fact, it looks like your 12v rail's max was 8A, that's kind of puny. As for manufacturers, I'm biassed toward Antec, you can count on getting what's advertised with them. Some manufacturers will rate a PSU as say 350W only to find that this is a peak power level, not RMS. If you stick with a major manufacturer you shouldn't have any of these problems. The link below may help you. Good luck

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/Power_Supply_Calculator.php?cmd=AMD

Hey Kiel...no you don't have to go with the same PSU, as a mater of fact, it looks like your 12v rail's max was 8A, that's kind of puny. As for manufacturers, I'm biassed toward Antec, you can count on getting what's advertised with them. Some manufacturers will rate a PSU as say 350W only to find that this is a peak power level, not RMS. If you stick with a major manufacturer you shouldn't have any of these problems. The link below may help you. Good luck

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/Power_Supply_Calculator.php?cmd=AMD

Ok so I took that test and have a minimum of 143 watts. Now I just go looking for a decent 143+ watt power supply that will fit my case?

Me Too Will Say Same Thing Try And Get One Thats Comaptible 8a And Try To Getit Running Best Of Luck

First of all, let me appologize...your 12V rail has a max. load of 13A.

I would not go with anything smaller than what you had in there, which was a 250W PSU.

First of all, let me appologize...your 12V rail has a max. load of 13A.

I would not go with anything smaller than what you had in there, which was a 250W PSU.