I'M 24 years old, a single parent in TN. I've been very interested in programming since I as probably 15, and I've been trying to learn since then. I started out with C++, didn't get far. I would start, give up, and start again. About a year ago I started C#, and now Python. I read somewhere that database programmers make good money and are always in demand. What I'M trying to figure out is, how do I get tech job? What's the fastest thing I could learn, or at least the best of both worlds. I work in a factory, no heat, no AC, where I've been for over 5 years. What's tacking me so long to learn what I need to learn to get the job? As I mentioned, I'M a single parent so going back to school isn't an option. Maybe something quick I could do online, but not something that's going to take as long as an actual degree. Please help.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

>What's [taking] me so long to learn what I need to learn to get the job?
At the risk of sounding harsh, I'd say the fact that you're not suited for the field is what's taking you so long. Why do I think this?

1. You strike me as having unrealistic fantasies about what programming is. This is very common.
  2. You started and quit rather than sticking with it. This says you're not nearly as interested as you say when it comes down to actually doing something.
  3. You seem too focused on getting a job and making good money. That's not an interest in programming, it's an interest in the hype about a high paying field.

Honestly, you're not going to get a programming job in any field with so little experience. It's just not going to happen with employers freaking out about the economy. Even if things were going well and there weren't so much competition for jobs, you'd have to show massive amounts of natural talent and potential for an employer to take the risk.