Hi there,

How's everyone doing?

Ok, being just a lowly biz owner LOL, I need someone who's an expert in MySQL/PHP to see if this guy is as good as his software seems.

I have no clue how to go about screening a programmer.

In fact I'd love to start a service where I offer that to customers.

What do you think?

Pls. PM me.

Thanks & have a great day people :)

Michelle

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I've been on both ends of this -- sort of. By trade I'm a programmer, but I've hired other programmers before.

My biggest measurement is their portfolio (but you have to know what you are looking at and how "hard" it is to actually create). Tests are ok, but only measure how good of a test taker you are, or how well you've memorized syntax.

Unfortunately non-programmers can be easily fooled by underhanded programmers.

Hi there,

Well I ended up getting someone to help me & in the end the programmer he gave as a pass didn't do a great job.

His code was ok, although the security code was unflexible, but communication & questions were almost non existant & caused a HUGE problem.

I had to hire another programmer just to fix the problems & we're still working on it.

At least he communicates well & he did take a test & did really well, so I'm hoping his code did well.

Also his code was viewed by other programmers & they made comments.

In the end communication & smarts is equally as important as coding & of course the person being ethical as you said.

You should start a screening service LOL. If done right, I feel it would be a big help to everyone involved.

PM me if interested.

Take care & have a great wknd.

Michelle

I've been on both ends of this -- sort of. By trade I'm a programmer, but I've hired other programmers before.

My biggest measurement is their portfolio (but you have to know what you are looking at and how "hard" it is to actually create). Tests are ok, but only measure how good of a test taker you are, or how well you've memorized syntax.