Hello, I am new to this web and new to programming. I am not sure what does mean the following algorithm: 

set counta = 0
set countb = 0

read number

while read was succesful do
    if number mod 2 equals 0
then
        set counta = counta + 1
otherwise
        if number mod 4 equals 0
        then
            set countb = countb + 1
    read number

write counta
   write countb

I need help with this:

Explain:    1- what takes as input
             2- clearly specify any assumption regarding the input
             3- what Generates as output (not what output means)
             4- what does (relationship btw input and output)

What I have done is
 1 this takes as input any number right?
 2 I think that the number should be any number >= 0 ?
 3 for counta and countb will be always 1?
 4 there is relationship because for counta and countb to be 1, the number need to be 0??

also what does counta = 0 means? It means that counta is zero always?

thank you very much for your help!!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

1 this takes as input any number right?

Not quite, it takes a set of numbers. The while, indicates a loop that repeats as long as "read was successful". It's difficult to determine from the way your post is tabbed, but it probably loops after the "read number" statement.

2 I think that the number should be any number >= 0 ?

That's a fair assumption.

3 for counta and countb will be always 1?
also what does counta = 0 means? It means that counta is zero always?

No, they are set to 0 initially. However the statements:

set counta = counta + 1

and

set countb = countb + 1

indicate that counta and countb increment by 1. So if counta was 0, it would become 1, then if it was incremented again, it would become 2, and so on.

4 there is relationship because for counta and countb to be 1, the number need to be 0??