Which is your favourite? I need help because I wanna know what I should be making my site in.:cheesy:

Thanks guys,

Slade

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

asp.net smokes the hell out of those other programming langauges :)

commented: I agree :D +6

Javascript isn't really a scripting language. It's just a few extra bells and whistles you can add to standard HTML code - it's clientside unlike the other serverside options.

yeah I know, but I thought I'd add it in anyway :D

Slade

I know alot of people like cgi and php but I'm just curious as to what the advantages are. Can anyone help me out on this?

Well I am a perl programmer primarily, but I also really like ksh, both of which are pretty good with cgi

Hi,

I enjoy using bash and expect. Expect is really useful for scripting ftp or scp sessions, where you need to transmit passwords and/or other interactive stuff at a command line.

Christian

I agree. Bash (and others) shell scripts are awesome. Very low overhead, and very powerful for "quick-and-dirty" type tools, to more complex cgi scripts for a webserver. And just think, the only interpreter you need is your shell! :) Yes, shell scripts can be limited at times when compared to others, but still, they get a job done that might otherwise require too much work in a different language.

Javascript isn't really a scripting language. It's just a few extra bells and whistles you can add to standard HTML code - it's clientside unlike the other serverside options.

Javascript _is_ a scripting language. The fact that it's client-side instead of server-side does not make it less of one.

ASP.NET isn't even a language it's a platform which supports multiple languages - one of which, C#, isn't a scripting language but the other of which, VB.NET, has most of the characteristics of one.