Hey Guys,

I'm building a database that will be used to track the professional training and development courses employees take at my work. I'm relatively new to db's, and I find the relationships a little confusing to grasp in this case.

I have attached what i've done so far.

I believe i have created the right tables but that I have made a mistake in the relationship.

I think the relationships are many-to-many, but I have managed to put one-to-many and not sure exactly how to switch it to many-to-many

At the end, I plan on having a form with a subform that allows the user to view the courses and individually add people to that course.

Your help, input and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Jason

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You mention that you think the relations are many to many. Can you tell us which tables you think have a many-to-many relationship. From the tables in the database, it seems it would be appropriate to have a many to many relationship between the employees and the courses (each employee can be enrolled in several courses and each course can have several employees enrolled).

Creating a many-to-many relationship is actually done by using two one-to-many relationships with an intermediate table holding the necessary information for the relationship. When viewing the relationships in the database, it appears you have already done this by the use of the enrollment table.

Therefore, everything that you have in your database so far looks good to me; the one-to-many relationship from employees to enrollments and the many-to-one relationship from enrollment to courses forms the many-to-many relationship from employees to course.

Please let me know if you need further explanation.

Hey Tim,

Thanks for your response. Yes, I was thinking employees and courses should have a many-to-many but I'm glad to hear I've already done that (haha) as well as that I've got the right tables etc.