Hi group,

I'm still learning Visual Basic and SQL. Please overlook my inabilities.

I'm writing a module that is meant to write a small amount of data to a database. I've named these fields 'PrinterID', 'PrinterName', 'PrinterNumber', 'PrinterLocation' and 'PrinterAddress'. The user will eventually have 30 or 40 records to add to this file.

My questions are: when writing to the file, how do I number the rows (this will be the PrinterID)? As the user adds to this, how do I find the last row number so that I can assign the next row value? And lastly, do these rows begin with '0' or '1'? I ask, because I assume '0'. But I'd rather it be 1!

In advance, thanks for the help.

Don

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

You can just use COUNT() to get the total number of rows (which of course would be the last row number). My MSSQL server is at work so I can't look at it, and I am having a "duh" moment, but I believe the rows start at 0. You can't open it up and look? ;-)

@doncwilson_1: use autoincrement if that field is unique and increment by 1 everytime.take a look http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/example-auto-increment.html
if you still need to get last printerId then you this query

SELECT * FROM Printer ORDER BY PrinterID DESC LIMIT 1

order by will first give data in descending order of PrinterId and then LIMIT 1 will restrict to the last data

commented: I agree. Thanks for the correction. +7

@pixelsoul-If we use count it will return number of records not the last Id.So if some record is deleted ,then it will return the wrong Id.

@IIM - I totally misread his question (I'm tired) and didn't realize he was talking about inserting rows to a table. And like you said auto increment :)

IIM,