Im new to game programming and i was wondering whats a good book i could get to start out.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Well, , first off, are you new to programming in general or just game programming?

im new to programming in general

Would Accelerated C++ be a good book to start out.

My recommendation for a C++ book would be C++ Primer Plus. Be warned, C++ is a tough language to learn. Make sure you do your research on languages before you go with one, just to make sure you go with the right one. You could spend years learning C++ well enough to make a game then realize you hate it. Look around, read some tutorials on different languages, see what you like.

C and C++ are more difficult languages to start with, though very powerful/fast-running and certainly not impossible. Free if you use the various Gnu compilers. Much documentation.

Since you are just starting, I recommend that you try something with a smaller entry cost. Python would be good since it is reasonably simple, has good graphics available. Much documentation, but perhaps not quite as much as for C++. It is also free. http://www.python.org

A lot of online games these days are written for Adobe Flash using Action Script. I've not worked with this stuff, so all I have is a URL: http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flash

Of course, there are also the Windows compilers and languages

I have found another book C++ for the absolute beginner. would you recommend this

no, I can't recommend that book.
Mind I've not read it, but any book with a title like that leaves me highly suspicious as to its content.

do you have any book in mind that you've read that could start me off.

also would you recommend learning python instead of c++ and if so can you list some books.