... hello everyone... i'm a computer science student here in the Philippines and i just want to ask help on how to develop a game... honestly, i am very clueless on how can i start my program... i really don't know what to do. i need to make a program that have abstract classes and with inheritance.... pls... i need help...

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Join request. Very interesting

If your game must be created with "pure" C++, then you are going to be left with pretty simple, and pretty boring, console stuff. However, if you are asking how you should get started in game developement, my suggestion would be to learn Windows Programming (A.k.a. Win32 Programming). A game is nothing more than software, with animated images.

I beg to differ. All these games are written in "pure C++" as you call it. The graphics are created procedurally.

Games programming is not just software with animated images. Honestly, don't speak if you don't know what you're talking about. Technically *all* software is just an animated image, even the console apps. How else does the screen show you new information?

Yes an image (read frame) is created by getting information from the software, such as texture, model data, position data etc. But they are also physics simulators and network communicators with real time user interaction.

Also you do *not* need to learn windows programming to write a game. You *will* however, want to learn a Graphics API such as OpenGL if you want graphics. But there are still popular games (MUDs) out there totally in text.

Thank you. I will read literature about OpenGL
If there are some other suggestions, please tell me

... we were asked to develop a pure java program.... i'm already done with the interface of my game using gui and now, one of my big problem now is how to make the object or the character to move using arrow keys... can someone help me???