Hi

Recently I started programming C (not C++) in borland 4.5 at school. Now my teammate and I have to make a small game. Therefor I will use an two-dimensional array, the field (a table, rows and colmnes). This two-dimensional array holds chars ("X", "|", "J", "-" and " ").
I would like to have an option where the player can change the lengte and width of the field. Thats where dynamic allocation comes in.

Here is the part of the function in my code that gives me troubles, its about malloc and it compiles but gives an error when it runs: "Stack Fault".

void teken_veld() {
 char* tab_veld[80][80];
 int y, x;

for(y=0;y<lengte;y++){
   for(x=0;x<breedte;x++){
         tab_veld[y][x]=malloc(lengte*sizeof(char)); 
         strcpy(tab_veld[y][x], " ");
   }
 }
 free(tab_veld[y][x]);

strcpy(tab_veld[0][posvisser], "X");
 strcpy(tab_veld[posvishaak][posvisser], "J");

}

I would realy appreciate if somewanne could help me out.

Greetings
Kevin

Ancient Dragon commented: Thanks for using code tags correctly +19

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

If all you want them to hold is a single character then you don't need them to hold strings. You can simplify the table to this: char* tab_veld[80]; which is an array of 80 pointers (or 80 rows of unspecified number of columns). If you want each row to have 100 columns, then tab_veld[0] = malloc(100); Each column can hold one of the 5characters you previously specified, that is 'X', '|', 'J', '-', or the space ' '. Note that this are NOT strings, but single characters.

char*tab_veld[80 = {0};
// assuming [b]lengte[/b] is the number of columns in each row
 for(y=0;y< 80; ++y){
       tab_veld[y] = malloc(lengte); 
       memset(tab_veld[y], ' ', lengte); // set each column in this row to a space
 }
// I don't know what posvisser means so I can't tell you if the next two lines are right or wrong.  But what you want to do is just set a sincle cell to a single character.
 tab_veld[0][posvisser] = 'X';