Hi All

I'm a C++ noob so please don't be too harsh. I have written a tiny server using sockets. It forks children off for each connection. Trouble is I need have each child report back to the parent. I have been trying to set up a shared file using mmap (I'm not married to this idea though).

Problem I'm having is that the map->push_back(myRequestLog); fails without any error or any feedback.

If anyone can give me some pointers I would appreciate it.

int writeSharedMemory(RequestLog myRequestLog){
    int i;
    int fd;
    int result;
	bool existed = true;
    vector<RequestLog> *map;  /* mmapped array of RequestLog's */

/* Open a file for writing. */
    fd = open(FILEPATH, O_RDWR, (mode_t)0600);
    if (fd == -1) {
		existed = false;
		fd = open(FILEPATH, O_RDWR | O_CREAT, (mode_t)0600);
		if (fd == -1) {
			perror("Error opening file for writing");
			exit(EXIT_FAILURE);
		}
    }

if(!existed){
		/* Stretch the file size to the size of the (mmapped) vector*/
		result = lseek(fd, FILESIZE-1, SEEK_SET);
		if (result == -1) {
			close(fd);
			perror("Error calling lseek() to 'stretch' the file");
			exit(EXIT_FAILURE);
		}

result = write(fd, "", 1);
		if (result != 1) {
			close(fd);
			perror("Error writing last byte of the file");
			exit(EXIT_FAILURE);
		}
	}

/* Now the file is ready to be mmapped.*/
	map = (vector<RequestLog>*)mmap(0, FILESIZE, PROT_READ | PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, 0);
    if (map == MAP_FAILED) {
		close(fd);
		perror("Error mmapping the file");
		exit(EXIT_FAILURE);
    }

/* Now write int's to the file as if it were memory*/
	try{
		map->push_back(myRequestLog);
	} catch (const Error &error) {
		cout << error.get_msg() << "\n";
	}

/* Don't forget to free the mmapped memory*/
    if (munmap(map, FILESIZE) == -1) {
		perror("Error un-mmapping the file");
		/* Decide here whether to close(fd) and exit() or not. Depends... */
    }

/* Un-mmaping doesn't close the file, so we still need to do that.*/
    close(fd);
    return 0;
}