hello

i am an absolute noob to java...took me about a day to work out how to compile a .java file to a .class file

now i cant run the .class file in DOS can anyone help me plz :(

the error i get is

"Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: HelloWorldApp"

thanks in advanced

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

This is a class path problem. The class path let's Java know where to locate classes for your file. Post the command that you are using to run the program and a bit of directory information on where that class file resides.

i type "java helloworldapp"

this is the directory
"C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\My Documents\practice\java\hello world app\sr
c\helloworldapp>"

after googling this problem a number of times i get a lot of results saying that it is a classpath problem....but as a noob...this means nothing to me :(...i dont know what it is

Are you running that command from directory which contains that class? Is there a package declaration in that class?

Ok, it actually looks you may just have a case-sensitivity issue with your names. If the class is called HelloWorldApp, it must reside in a file of that exact case-sensitive name. You must use the same case-sensitive name when you run it. "helloworldapp" is not the same as "HelloWorldApp".

i dont understand... the ".class" must reside in another file? do you mean folder?

sorry but i really am a complete noob

here is what DOS gives me

C:\Documents and Settings\computer\My Documents\practice\java\hello world app\sr
c\HelloWorldApp>java HelloWorldApp
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: HelloWorldApp (wrong
name: helloworldapp/HelloWorldApp)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)