i was asked to create my own boot disk that would just display my name in the screen. I was told that i am not allowed to use the files from microsoft and that i should create all the files.

I've read some articles on the net and most of them just tells me to either copy a code or use an already defined boot program while some of them just adds to my confusion. Im trying hard but im really new to this and I really need help.

questions:
-How does the computer know that a bootdisk is in the drive to be loaded?
-What files are required to run in a boot disk?
-What do i need to initialize or define?

all help will be appreciated. thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

> How does the computer know that a bootdisk is in the drive to be loaded?
You go into the BIOS, and you tell it which devices ( Eg. A: C: ) to attempt to load boot information from. The first one with a valid boot record boots the machine.

The rest is explained here.
http://www.nondot.org/~sabre/os/articles

thanks a lot

ORG 0

jmp 07C0h:start     ; Goto segment 07C0

MsgLoad     db "Hello from me",0

start:
            ; Update the segment registers
            mov ax, cs
            mov ds, ax
            mov es, ax

mov si, MsgLoad              ; display load message
            call putstr

hang:                       ; Hang!
            jmp hang

putstr:     ; SI = address of string to display
            lodsb
            or al,al
            jz short putstrd
            mov ah,0x0E
            mov bx,0x0007
            int 0x10
            jmp putstr

putstrd:    retn 

times 510-($-$$) db 0
    dw 0AA55h

from what ive read ive come up with this code...
unfortunately it doesnt work..

comments? suggestions? am i too far off? help me please...

and btw, i compiled it with nasm

thanks