I know how to generate numbers like 1-20, 1-1000 etc...
but Im trying to figure out how to generate random letters from A-Z?
any help please?

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

define a string literal

const char* const a_to_z = "ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ" ;

generate a random integer ri in the range 0 to 25 (inclusive).
use a_to_z[ri] as the random letter.
note: *do not* do this: char( 'A' + ri )

hmm i dont seem to get it. btw im new to C++ :P

heres the code that I used to generate 3 random numbers

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
#include <ctime>

using namespace std;

int main()

{

unsigned seed = time (0);
srand (seed);

cout << rand() << " " << rand() << " " << rand() << " " << endl;

system("pause");
return 0;

}

where do i put the codes i need to generate letters instead?

Look at an ascii chart -- the letters 'A' - 'Z' have decimal values of 65 - 90. So just generate a random number between 0 and 26 then add 65.

i cant seem to get it lol eek!
can you just hook me up with the code?

<snip>

I'm curious why you say this?

Vijayan is saying this because it is not guaranteed that the character set will have the alphabetical characters 'A' through 'Z' or 'a' through 'z' represented by a contiguous block of integers. However, it is very likely. Some character set uses something like the ordering AaBbCc...Zz , which does not actually provide a sufficient lexicographical ordering, and EBCDIC has letters all over the place. But char('A' + ri) will probably work for you, and if it doesn't, you deserve so for having used such a bizarre character set. :D

commented: Nice clear response +2
int main()
{
    int n = rand() % 26;
    char c = (char)(n+65);
    cout << c << "\n";
    return 0;
}
commented: Thanks, You were very clear and percise, it was very easy to understand. +0

i cant seem to get it lol eek!
can you just hook me up with the code?