HI .... I am a beginner programmer and we are required at college to create a very simple game as a console application :(

We found a graphics library for that... thank God....

But we need a sound and video library... but please consider that it should be:
1. For console applications
2. Can be added to visual c++ 6 , and please show me how to do that :)

Thanks in advance :D

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

for sound use fmod or something, you can't do video in a *console* application.

You can get FMOD from here.

But if you don't use Visual Studio you need to use the C API, not the C++ one.
I used fmod once, it's pretty easy and straightforward. Here's some of my test code. I compiled it in Dev-C++.

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include "fmod/fmod.h"
#include "fmod/fmod_errors.h"
using namespace std;

FMOD_RESULT result;
FMOD_SYSTEM *fsystem;
FMOD_SOUND *sound;
FMOD_CHANNEL *channel;

void fmod_err(FMOD_RESULT result) {
     printf("Error in FMOD: (err=%d) %s\n", result, FMOD_ErrorString(result));
     exit(1);
}

void ERRCHECK(FMOD_RESULT result) {
     if(result != FMOD_OK) fmod_err(result);
}

void stuff() {
     // do stuff with FMOD

// load sound
     result = FMOD_System_CreateStream(fsystem, "linch.mp3", FMOD_DEFAULT, 0, &sound);
     ERRCHECK(result);

result = FMOD_System_PlaySound(fsystem, FMOD_CHANNEL_FREE, sound, false, &channel);
     ERRCHECK(result);

/* fmod doc says to do this, but I don't (and it still works fine) I guess it updates channel info:
     while(true) {
         FMOD_System_Update(fsystem);
     }*/
}

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
    //FMOD_RESULT result;

result = FMOD_System_Create(&fsystem);

result = FMOD_System_Init(fsystem, 5, FMOD_INIT_NORMAL, 0);

stuff();

system("PAUSE");
    return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}

I have downloaded it, but the demos are not working....
I tried your code.... but he couldn't find the library called fmod/fmod.h
How do we add this? .... Thank you.... Forgive me ... I am a beginner :D