Hello, this is my first time posting here so im sorry for doing anything wrong. Also I am kinda new at programming so bare with me.

I am currently working on a function that basically reads a list of double values and assigns them to an array. But I ran across this problem that I have no idea what to do about. I've searched everywhere but seems like no one really had this problem, so I must be doing something completely wrong.

Here is the code I am working with:

void Employee::readSalary(Employee emp[])
{
	int i = 0;
	double thisSalary;
	ifstream empFile;

empFile.open("salary.txt");
	while(!empFile.eof())
	{
		empFile >> thisSalary;             //reads in the double value
		emp[i].setSalary(thisSalary);    //assigns to the array
		cout << emp[i].getSalary() << endl;   //for test purposes
		i++;
	}
	empFile.close();
}

Now in salary.txt I have 3 double values such as:

When this code runs, it outputs:

I have no idea why it reads in the last value twice and assigns it to two different array elements. Maybe I am not reading the double value the correct way? or is there something I am missing about the eof() function. I get the same problem if I read an Int, but I have no problem with strings. Any kind of help is GREATLY appreciated, I've been stuck on this for a while now. Thanks in advance.

-Qas

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

The problem is the way you formed that while loop -- it reads the last entry in the file twice. Here is the correct way to code it. Notice that eof() is not necessary.

while(empFile >> thisSalary)
	{
		i++;
	}

Hello, this is my first time posting here so im sorry for doing anything wrong. Also I am kinda new at programming so bare with me.