Hey,

So, three questions:

1. What is a DLL and what is a .lib file?

2. (might have been answered w/ #1) What is the purpose of .lib/.dll files?

3. How do I create a .lib file with C++, and (again, may have been answered above) what exactly will this do?

Thanks for any clarifications.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I'm fairly certain that in order to import c++ code into another language (like Java for example), you will need a dynamic link library in order for the process to be possible.

There are far more reasons for .dll files but I don't know of them yet myself. In fact, the main reason I started practicing c++ a little over a month ago was to learn it for the native methods I was learning from Java.

A DLL is a library of functions that are shared among other executable programs. Just look in your windows/system32 directory and you will find dozens of them. When your program creates a DLL it also normally creates a lib file so that the application *.exe program can resolve symbols that are declared in the DLL.

A .lib is a library of functions that are statically linked to a program -- they are NOT shared by other programs. Each program that links with a *.lib file has all the code in that file. If you have two programs A.exe and B.exe that link with C.lib then each A and B will both contain the code in C.lib.

How you create DLLs and libs depend on the compiler you use. Each compiler does it differently.

A .lib is a library of functions that are statically linked to a program -- they are NOT shared by other programs. Each program that links with a *.lib file has all the code in that file. If you have two programs A.exe and B.exe that link with C.lib then each A and B will both contain the code in C.lib.