Hey everyone,

I'm completely new to C# so I'm sorry if I don't make sense.
I need to capture the x and y position of the mouse cursor within a group box (or some other frame). How can I do that?

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

To be more thorough, here's what I'm trying to do...

I need to be able to allow a user to click a button within a frame on the form. Once the user clicks the button, I need the cursor to be confined to only that frame until the button is clicked again. Also, after the first click, I need to continuously output the x and y coordinates of the cursor. This information will later be sent to a controller via com port.

If you can vision the program in your head, it's sort of a remote control program for our robot. We have a wireless keyboard with a mouse built onto it that we use to drive the robot. depending on how far up the frame we move the cursor (and in what direction) determines how the robot responds.

The mousemove event has 2 parameters (object sender, MouseEventArgs e)

e.X and e.Y return the mouses location over the item for which that event fired, eg, if you do it over a picture box it tells you where within the picturebox you are.. This should help

Thanks for the help.
Do you think you could provide an example?

Sorry if the following seems a little offensive, but thats verging on very lazy.

I suppose. I just have no clue how to use what you gave me. I've never really used C#

Well they give your X and Y co-ords, do what you want to do with them..

so if I have a PictureBox... where would I code the MouseMove event? Sorry for being soooo new ... sort of embarrassing actually. I know C++ well, i just heard that C# is easier than Visual C++. :(

Here's what I have so far... but nothing happens:

private void groupBox1_MouseMove(object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
        {
            int x;
            int y;
            x = e.X;
            y = e.Y;

label1.Text = x.ToString();
            label2.Text = y.ToString();
        }