Hey there!

I was wondering if someone here could help me out a bit. I'm a beginner in Java and I'm struggling a bit with understanding if it is me who is doing something wrong or if something is just missing from my software to run the thing I'm trying to do.

What I have here is some basic applet from my textbook. What it is supposed to do, is make a small clutter of symbols and write a qoute, but when I try to compile and run it, I get the following errors:

'class' or 'interface' expected
javax.swing.JApplet;
^
java.awt.*;
^
Einstein JApplet
^
3 errors

This is the applet here:

//Einstein.java
//Demonstrates a basic applet. 

javax.swing.JApplet;
java.awt.*;

Einstein JApplet
{
	//Draws some forms and writes a qoute. 
	paint (Graphics page)
	{
		page.drawRect (50, 50, 40, 40);		//square
		page.drawRect (60, 80, 225, 30); 	//rectangle
		page.drawOval (75, 65, 20, 20); 	//circle
		page.drawLine (35, 60, 100, 120); 	//line

page.drawString ("Out of clutter, find simplicity.", 110, 70);
		page.drawString ("-- Albert Einstein", 130, 100);
	}
}

The software I'm using is TextMate 1.5.7
The example in the book shows Windows screen, but I haven't been told otherwise than it is fine for me to use a mac, but still I can't get this to run and I'm pretty sure I've copied the code exactly from the book.

Could someone please advice me or tell me if/what I'm doing wrong here? Or if I am missing some additional software that I need?
(My apologies for poor grammar, English ain't my first language.)

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

First you need to read the rules and then you need to seriously learn the basics of Java, which you can start with the first thread titled "Starting Java"