Hey everyone!

I'm trying to figure out the last step in completing this application. It compiles fine, I just can't seem to get the right answers! It's something to do with differentiating the two switch statements when calculating the results...between "car_type" and "ins_option".

I'm a beginner so I'm not too familiar with methods.

//Calculate totals and display results.

txtRentalTotal.Text = bill(car_type, num_rental_days, num_periods).ToString("C");
        txtInsuranceTotal.Text = bill(ins_option, num_ins_days, num_periods).ToString("C");
        txtFinalTotal.Text = (bill(car_type, num_rental_days, num_periods) + bill(ins_option,  num_ins_days, num_periods)).ToString("C");

private double bill (char type, int days, int periods)
    {
        // Daily Rental Prices.
        const double compact_price = 34.95;
        const double full_price = 49.95;
        const double sport_price = 75.95;

// Daily Insurance Prices.
        const double collision_ins = 18.49;
        const double full_ins = 34.99;

switch (car_type)
            {
                case 'C':
                    return compact_price * num_rental_days * num_periods;

case 'F':
                    return full_price * num_rental_days * num_periods;

case 'S':
                    return sport_price * num_rental_days * num_periods;
            }

switch (ins_option)
            {
                case 'C':
                    return collision_ins * num_ins_days * num_periods;

case 'F':
                    return full_ins * num_ins_days * num_periods;

case 'N':
                    return 0;

default:
                    messageBoxOK("Fatal error: The program should never get here!");
                    return 0;

}
    }

Any help would be appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Im surrpised it doesnt whine about drop throughs .. as there are no breaks in your switch statements.

Ok, give us an example of the input values you have, and the output you expected, and what you actually got.