hello,

I just wanted your input on this program(can it be more efficent?...and so on ). It's a simple program. It reads 5 integers and checks if its an palindrom or not. As you can see I am a beginner.

here is my code:

#include<iostream>
//#include<string>
//#include<ctime>
//#include<cstdlib>
//#include<
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	int arry[5];//holds 5 integers;
	int checker(0);//checkes if the list os an palindrom;

for( int i=0; i<5; i++)
	{
		cout<<"Enter a number ";
		cin>>arry[i];
	}

for(int i=0,j=4;((i>=0 && i<2) && (j<=4 && j>2 ));i++,j--)

{
		if(i!=j)
		{
			if(arry[i]==arry[j])
			checker++;

}
	}

if(checker==2)
				cout<<"Your number is an palindrome"<<endl;

else cout<<"Your number is not a palindrome"<<endl;

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

The test portion of your comparison for loop can be simplified a lot. It need not test that i >= 0, you just set it to 0. You don't need to test the j index at all. When either of the indexes has reached the midpoint, stop. You also don't need the test for i != j inside the loop body, it won't ever happen if your loop control is correct.
So, your for loop becomes

for(int i=0, j=4;  i<2; i++, j--)
{
  //do the comparison
}
//or
int i = 0, j = 4;
while( i < j )
{
  //do the comparison
  i++;
  j--;
}

I have four concerns with your code, in decreasing order of importance.

1) Your input requires five integers separated by spaces. What do you expect to happen if the user enters 26 27 88 72 62? Better to load a single integer (if you're happy to be limited to only checking values that can be stored in an int) or read a string of digits without spaces and then see if you have a palindrome by using string operations.

2) The for loop construct

for(int i=0,j=4;((i>=0 && i<2) && (j<=4 && j>2 ));i++,j--)