Hi every one here,
I am a university student of computer engeneering...altough still in the very begining i've got great interest making head or tails of programming stuff.
I am new to c programming ..it's around months from the time we started learing & coding with that, We have entered the stuff of c++ recently.
As the peroject of our term we have been told to code a few commands of "shell" in visual c++, without using system functions or unstandard libraries.
As for this, it requires that i learne well how to work with directories & stuff. i realized that direct.h provides us with some functions useful in the case....do u think it is unstandard to use this library?
...if still yes, then it doesnt provide me with anything to access the subfolders of a folder in order to code "dir" in win or "shell" in linux...
1-What recomandation do u think will help me deal with directories better? ..any standard unsystematic library u know ??

2- How about accessing subfolders of a directory to show them in a list as does the command "ls" or "dir" ?

3- how about clearing the screen ??...without the use of systm("cls"), how do u thinki can write in windows?

Thanx in advace dear experts !
Mahsa Mohammadi

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Does this have to be cross platform? You are kind of confusing me when you say
3- how about clearing the screen ??...without the use of systm("cls"), how do u thinki can write in windows?

Gives the impression its just for windows. But other things say linux too...

oh sorry..i know i confusingly mentioned my question.
Yes it should be multi platform bECAUSE we must not use any of system functions, if we dont use them then the program automaticly becomes multi platform.
The program is to be developed & coded in windows (i work better in windows), ....atthe end the project would be like this:
A standard c consule must work just like a command prompt in win !