Hello all,

i am new to C++ and im writing a little encryption program for fun. It requires the user to enter a 'passkey', which is a string (numbers, and letters). Then the program defines the ASCII value of all of the characters, and places them in the string - one after another. Then i want to use the "atol" function, to transfer the value of the string into the defined integer variable. This is where the program crashes and dispalys an error message "Access Violation (Segmentation Fault)".

Here is the code for that section:

char* value;
int num_value;

cout << "\n" << "What would you like the PassKey to be?   ";
cin >> passkey;

//**Convert to ASCII in this followiing Section**

int x = 0;

while (passkey[x] != '\0')
{
value += int(passkey[x]);
x++;
}

num_value = atol (value);

//**End of ASCII convert.** 

The program crashes when it gets to "num_value = atol (value);". I am not sure what the problem is. Can you please help, im stuck.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

char* value;

Where is the part that you have this pointer point to memory you can write to?

Can you describe in words what you believe this is doing?

Since atol requires a null-terminated string, where do you null terminate the "string"?

num_value is an int
atol returns a long int

solution: long num_value;

char* value;

Where is the part that you have this pointer point to memory you can write to?

Can you describe in words what you believe this is doing?

Since atol requires a null-terminated string, where do you null terminate the "string"?

Dave,

Thankyou for replying, as i stated i am new to this, and am not really sure of what i am doing.

I dont understand the first question you asked. Im confused, can you explain, and i might be able to help you.

Second - well, this while block takes each individual character of the string, and converts it to ASCII. The part that states: