Hey guys.
How may I implement a high/low card game using inheritance, any ideas out there? Sorry I am a bit of a newbie to all this stuff.
Help very much appreciated !

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

I am not too sure on the methods involved in your game but looking at whats exactly needed.
52 card need to be shuffled, one card is displayed, guess next card higher or lower. If correct next card is turned over and so on.

You will need classes and methods to shuffle the cards, to dislpay a card in its suit and rank, to check each guess...
I hope i was of some help, this is a tricky enough program to implement .

Thanks for the help, but i am still no where near figuring this one out. I am trying to think of what classes and class members I will need for this program. I know that inheritance is involved because of the suit and rank. But how do I implement a base class and derived classes for this prgram ?

Perhaps you could define a base class, called "Card" that has the rank values contained within it, as cards of all suits have a rank value. Then, you could define 4 derived classes, "SpadeCard", "HeartCard", "DiamondCard" and "ClubCard".

Good luck!

>Then, you could define 4 derived classes, "SpadeCard",
>"HeartCard", "DiamondCard" and "ClubCard".
You really think a class for each suit is necessary? Do you suggest making a separate class for each value too? :icon_rolleyes: There's not enough complexity in a standard deck of cards to justify inheritance, so perhaps the players can use it. A player base class with AI and human derived classes, for example.

I agree, you could represent the suits with an enum; but since he was looking for a class/inheritance feature, I suggested that one. Certainly your approach works as well.

Adding inheritance for the sake of inheritance is silly. I'd argue that just throwing inheritance in wherever you can because the assignment requires it teaches you nothing about how to design good software.