Hi All,

I'm a C++ beginner, and I face the following problem:

There's a .txt file that has some number written successively in the 15th line of the file. Each number (that could be a one or 2 digits number) is separated by a space from the preceding and succeeding numbers.

What I want to do is to read each of those numbers (their total number is 333) and store each of them( in its specific order) in an array of integers. i.e. I need to have an array declared as int [333], and each of its entries is one of the 333 numbers in the same order they appear in the text file.

Suppose that the file is called input.txt and that its path is c:\input.txt.

Could you please provide me with a simple code for that?

Thanks a lot.

Aly

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

What does "written successively in the 15th line" mean?
Do you mean starting at the 15th column?

What does "written successively in the 15th line" mean?
Do you mean starting at the 15th column?

It means that line 15 (row 15) in the .txt file has the following structure for example:

2 23 434 22 12 4 7 9 0 1 4 8 9

And all what I need to do is to read those numbers (that are again in the 15th line of the .txt file, and store them in an integer array. So, for example, for the previous example, the array that I want should be like this:

A[1]=2
A[2]=23
A[3]=434
A[4]=22

And so on.

Hope it's clear now. Thanks for your help in advance.

Aly

Declare your integer array and an ifstream:

int A[333];
ifstream input;

Skip the first 14 lines using getline to grab the line up to the newline and then do nothing with it. You've now reached the 15th line.

Set up a loop and read in the 333 integers:

for (int i = 0; i < 333; i++)
    input >> A[i];

Close the ifstream.

Note that array indexes should start with 0, not 1.

Thanks a lot for your reply.